Vegan Carrot Cake with Lemon Coconut Yogurt Frosting


On the last day of last year, my friend from yoga baked us treats. I realized I haven’t baked in the longest time.. since I don’t have a whole lot of processed food or refined sugar, baking becomes tedious (I need to come up a recipe to keep it clean)… but since it’s the new year and all, I decided to make this everything-free Cake.

This cake is vegan, gluten-free and refined sugar-free. It’s also super easy to put together (I actually made it on a whim after work).
Recipe adapted from Nadia’s Kitchen

Dry Ingredients: 
GF Oat flour – 1 cup (pulse oats in a blended until you have a smooth flour)
Coconut Flour – 1 cup
Baking powder – 2 tsps
Pinch of salt. Cinnamon. All spice. Nutmeg. 
Coconut Sugar – 1/2 cup (or use brown sugar)

Wet Ingredients: 
Flax egg – 2 tbsps flax mix in 6 tbsps of warm water
Coconut Oil – 1/3 cup
Coconut Milk – 1/2 cup
Finely grated carrot – 1 cup
Ripe banana – 1, mashed

Mix wet and dry ingredients together.

Bake at 300F or 180C for 30 minutes or until cooked. 

You can have the cake as is or make a basic vegan frosting.

For the lemon coconut yogurt frosting: Blend 1/2 cup frozen Coconut Vanilla Yogurt. 2 tbsps Maple Syrup. 1 tsp of lemon juice. 2 tbsps Frozen Coconut Milk. 

Let the cake cool completely before adding the frosting.

 

 

 


Enjoy chilled!

 

Leave a comment