Spiced Chickpeas Apple & Paneer Salad


I can never resist a salad that is gorgeously put together… and when it has Indian flavors in it, it just gets so much better. 🙂

Spiced Paneer Chickpeas Apple Salad

I have always admired Tarla Dalal’s healthy cooking style. She is one of the only cooks whose recipes I have tried to emulate. The results are always fantastic. This is my take on her Chickpeas Paneer salad recipe I found.

Spiced Paneer Chickpeas Apple Salad2

I think I get all uneasy when I see a can of chickpeas lying around in my fridge and just cant wait to use it in some new recipe. It is definitely one of my favorite proteins! 😀

Spiced Paneer Chickpeas Apple Salad4

I made my own changes to the original recipe by adding apples and Indian masalas because I feel that would kick this simple salad to another level…

Spiced Paneer Chickpeas Apple Salad1

The flavors, came together amazingly well & believe it or not, this salad is NOT an appetizer. It is a completely nutritious meal by itself. DO NOT MISS IT!!

Spiced Paneer Chickpeas Apple Salad3

Cook time: 15 minutes + chickpeas soaking time; Recipe Source: Tarla Dalal; Serves: 2 (or one really hungry person!) 

Ingredients: 

  • Chickpeas – 1 cup, soaked overnight and boiled
  • Apple – 1/2 cup, chopped small
  • Paneer or Indian Cottage Cheese – 1/2 cup
  • Onion – 1, sliced or diced
  • Red Chilly power – 1 tsp
  • Coriander Powder – 1 1/2 tsps
  • Cumin powder – 1 tsp
  • Olive oil – 1 tsp
  • Lemon Juice – 1 tsp
  • Sugar – a pinch
  • Pepper powder – 1 tsp
  • Salt – to taste

Instructions: 

In a bowl, marinate the cubed paneer pieces with red chilly powder, coriander powder, cumin powder & salt. Mix.

IMG_0215

Heat 1 tsp of oil in a pan, toss the marinated paneer and chickpeas together for 4 to 5 minutes, until they turn slightly crisp.

IMG_0217

In the same bowl prepare the dressing by mixing olive oil, lemon juice, sugar, pepper and pinch of salt. Toss apple and onions in the dressing.

IMG_0218 IMG_0219

Finally, add the crispy chickpeas, paneer. Mix everything together.

IMG_0220

Enjoy!!! 

Spiced Paneer Chickpeas Apple Salad5

Leave a comment